The Majority is the first and final full length studio album by Mammal. It is however, their second album following their debut Vol 1: The Aural Underground, which was a live album and also a self-titled studio EP. The album features all new songs, except Burn Out & Hollywood Shrine which are familiar to Mammals fans, being played live for over a year prior. The first single Smash the Piñata was released a month prior to the album. The album while still being true to Mammal's core sound has shown a more diverse and adventurous side to the band musically. Work began on the album on November 20, 2007 and recording commenced on April 20, 2008 with American producer/engineer Eric Sarafin who is known for his work with Ben Harper, Spearhead & Pharcyde.

To help Mammals "No Label" approach to existing, the band enlisted the help of loyal fans by accepting pre-orders before the recording had even started, to fund the recording process. The fans who helped received the Limited Edition version of the album numbered and signed by the band and were also thanked in the liner notes.

The album was launched live on the day of release at an instore at Rare Records, St Kilda. The band performed the entire album to the lucky first 100 people who pre-ordered the album.

When the song "Burn Out" is played live, Mammal have been known to bring artists from other acts on the bill onto stage to sing in duet with Zeke. Such artists include:

"Smash the Piñata" is the first single taken from The Majority by Mammal. The song was released to radio about a month prior to the album release. A video was also made for the song, directed by Chris Frey

"The Majority" was the second single taken from The Majority. The song was released to coincide with the launch of the host album. A video was also made for the song, directed by Chris Frey

"The Majority" was initially released as a CD+DVD Digipak Limited Edition pressing. Limited copies pre-ordered from JB Hi-Fi also came signed by the band.

AUS Limited Edition MAMMAL004