Sally Shapiro is the pseudonym of a Swedish vocalist and the name of the band composed of Shapiro and computer/synth player Johan Agebjörn. Shapiro grew up listening to Swedish pop and disco and the band was influenced by Eurobeat and Italo Disco.

Agebjörn shed some light on the choice of the fictional stage name in an October 2007 interview with Exclaim! Magazine

Sally Shapiro's debut album, 2007's Disco Romance, was produced by Agebjörn. The album received strong reviews, and Shapiro has recently been championed by many prominent music blogs including Pitchfork Media.

Disco Romance was released in North America October 16, 2007 on Canadian based indie label Paper Bag Records. It is a 10 song album featuring artwork by Canadian designer, Geoff Wilson.

Shapiro is notable for shunning publicity and has never revealed her real name. However, in an interview with Swedish webzine Judy in September 2007, she talked for the first time about considering performing live.

In Spring 2008, Sally Shapiro went on a short DJ Tour, but on a February 2009 post on Sally Shapiro's MySpace Blog, Agebjörn stated that Sally would not perform again:

On April 15, 2008, Sally Shapiro's remix album Remix Romance Vol. 1 was released worldwide by Paper Bag Records. Some of the names on this remix album are Junior Boys, Jon Brooks, Lindstrøm, Holy Fuck and Juan Maclean.

Quickly following Vol. 1, Remix Romance Vol. 2 was released on June 17, 2008. It contains remixes by Dntel, The Russian Futurists, Solvent and Alexander Robotnick. This volume is only available as a download, for now.

Sally Shapiro's single, Miracle, was released on June 16, 2009. It is similar in style to previous Shapiro singles.

Their second studio album, My Guilty Pleasure, was released in September 2009. Like the previous work, it was recorded alone.

Producer: Johan Agebjörn;

Executive Producer: Wolfram "marfloW" Eckert