Melbourne, Australia

Little River Band is an Australian rock band, formed in Melbourne in 1975. The group chose the name after a road sign to the Victorian township of Little River, near Geelong. Little River Band enjoyed sustained commercial success in not only Australia, but also in the United States. During its career, the band sold more than 25 million records and achieved 13 U.S Top 40 hits - to add to awards gained in Australia.

The band's original members were: lead vocals Glenn Shorrock; acoustic guitar & vocals Graham Goble; rhythm guitar & vocals Beeb Birtles; guitar David Briggs; lead guitar Ric Formosa; bass guitar Roger McLachlan; and drummer Derek Pellicci. The music and lyrics for most of the group's compositions were contributed by Goble and Shorrock primarily — with contributions from Birtles and Briggs.

In May 2001 the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA), as part of its 75th Anniversary celebrations, named "Cool Change", written by Shorrock, as one of the Top 30 Australian songs of all time. The 'classic line-up' of Birtles, Goble, Pellicci, Shorrock, guitarist David Briggs and bass guitarist George McArdle, were inducted into the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Hall of Fame at the 18th Annual ARIA Music Awards of 2004.