Quebec, Canada

Le Vent du Nord is a folk music group from Quebec, Canada. The band, formed in 2002, performs traditional Québécois music (which is heavily influenced by Celtic music from both Ireland and Brittany) in French. The group's membership consists of Réjean Brunet (vocals, diatonic button accordion, acoustic bass guitar, piano and jew harp), Simon Beaudry (vocals, guitar, Irish bouzouki), Olivier Demers (vocals, fiddle, foot-tapping and guitar), and Nicolas Boulerice (vocals, hurdy gurdy, piano accordion, piano). All five of their recordings have been nominated for multiple awards; the first two have received awards. Le Vent du Nord was formed in 2002. Nicolas Boulerice and Olivier Demers began the band with Sébastien Dufour and Frédéric Samson. This configuration lasted only a short time, changing once they met Benoit Bourque (vocals, diatonic button accordion, mandolin, bones, and step dancing) in Vancouver later the same year. With the same interest and passion in folk music, and in spite of the fact that all were engaged in other musical groups at that time, they decided to continue together. Bernard Simard also joined the group on guitar and vocals in the same period. The band officially started in September 2002. In 2004, Simard was replaced by Simon Beaudry. Benoit was replaced by Réjean Brunet in 2006.