Karen Peck and New River is a southern gospel trio based in Gainesville, Georgia.

Music career

The youngest of three daughters, Karen was exposed to the traditional sounds of gospel music at a very early age. Her parents often took Karen and her sisters, Susan and Sandra, to the all-night sings in Atlanta, and these concerts left an indelible mark on the youngsters who made a pact that someday they would share a musical ministry of their own.

One of the groups often featured at the Atlanta concerts was The Lefevres, who later became known as The Nelons. It would be a mild understatement to say that Karen had aspirations of singing with this talented family. In fact, that aspiration became her greatest desire, and in 1981, this dream became a reality when Karen was invited to travel with her favorite group. She remained with The Nelons for 10 years, gaining the respect of industry peers and fans alike with her exceptional vocal ability and caring personality.

Finally in 1991, the realization of yet another dream came to pass when Karen and her sister, Susan, with Karen's husband Rickey, organized the musical entourage of Karen Peck and New River. Today the New River team consists vocally of Karen, Susan, and Jeff Hawes. Additionally, Karen's husband, Rickey, serves as the group's road manager and sound technician. Susan's husband, David, is the founder and owner of the Jackson Steel Guitar Company.

Karen Peck and New River have garnered 11 Favorite Soprano Fan Awards from the readers of The Singing News Magazine, Southern Gospel Music's leading fan and trade publication. Karen and group have also received many awards from other magazine publications and Internet publications. They have had five consecutive No. 1 songs in southern gospel music.

The group have appeared on such prestigious stages as The Grand Ole Opry, The Gaither Homecoming concerts, Opryland Theme Park, Dollywood and Six Flags Over Georgia, New River. Over the past decade, they have been featured on many television networks, with appearances on programs such as TBN's Praise The Lord, and the Grand Ole Opry Live. The group has enjoyed many honors and accolades.

Their album "Journey of Joy" received a Grammy nomination for 2008. "Journey of Joy" was also nominated for three Dove Awards. This album has three consecutive No. 1 songs: "Hey", "Last Night", and "Whispered Prayers". A few of their other popular hits include: "Why Can't All God's Children Get Along", "I Want to Thank You", "Hold Me While I Cry", "Just One Touch", "I Wanna Know How It Feels", "God Likes To Work", "Daddy's Home", "When Jesus Passes By", "God Still Answers Prayer", and "Christian In The House". Additionally, the group's number one hit, "Four Days Late", was also named Song of the Year by readers of The Singing New Magazine in 2001 and the SGMA Awards and continues to be a favorite among audiences.

In September 2008, Daywind released Ephesians One. The album, featured the No. 1 song "I Want To Thank You", which was nominated for a Grammy in 2009. In 2009, Daywind released their album "No Worries, and in 2010, the DVD/CD "Live at Oake Tree" was nominated for a 2010 Grammy Award (their third Grammy nomination). July 2011 brought the release of "Reach Out". "Each time we go into the studio to record a new album," Karen shares, "we're at a different place in our walk with Christ than the last time we prepared for a recording. Therefore, obviously, each recording pulls at a different heart string, yet the message of hope is always present. That's what life in Christ is all about. As a result of various circumstances each of us have faced over the past years, we're at a point in our lives where we realize that anything we achieve or accomplish is all because of Christ. It is an honor to serve Him."


Karen Peck Gooch (born March 12, 1960), soprano, 1991-present,

Susan Peck Jackson (born February 4, 1957), alto (Karen's sister) 1991-present,

David White (tenor) 1991-1993, 1994-1999,

Eric Morris (tenor) 1993-1994,

John Rowsey (tenor) 1999-2002,

Jason Jackson (tenor) 2002-2004,

Paul Lancaster (tenor) 2004,

Devin McGlamery (tenor) 2004-2009,

Jeff Hawes (tenor) 2010-present