New Station
Free On Mobile Free On Mobile Available now for
iPhone, iPad & Android
“I'm in love with Jango” - USA Today
“Makes it fun to
discover new music” - Wall Street Journal
“Straight forward and
easy to navigate” - PCWorld
“Refreshingly simple
online radio” - CNET

The Eyes of a Traitor was a British metalcore band from Harpenden in Hertfordshire, UK, who formed in the summer of 2006. They have released two extended plays, and two full-length studio albums. The band consists of vocalist Jack Delany, guitarists Tim George and Matthew Pugh, and drummer Sam Brennan. The bands name apparently devirves from a conversation the band members had whilst watching Star Wars. There have been numerous line-up changes within the band, mainly due to members wishing to pursue education.

They released their debut EP By Sunset in November 2007 after being recorded and writted it in 2007. In 2007 they were spotted and signed by Listenable Records and then released their debut album, A Clear Perception on the record label, in 2009. Their second studio album, Breathless, was released in July 2010 after featuring a different line-up, maintaining only the vocalist and drummer of the band as original members. In 2011 they released and distributed a second extended play titled The Disease independently, through live shows. Eyes of a Traitor was in the process of recording their third studio album; however declared their hiatus on 20 November 2011.


Formation and A Clear Perception (2006-2009):

The band formed in August 2006 when vocalist Jack Delany and guitarist Stephen Whitworth first met in Luton. A year after their formation, they parted ways with their bassist, Ian Cubbon due to musical differences. Releasing their first extended play, By Sunset on underground UK label Thirty Days of Night led to them touring across the country. Their first tour was a 7 day UK tour in support of Italian blackened death metal band Godless Crusade. In the winter of 2007, The Eyes of a Traitor did a headline tour with death metal act Aortic Dissection, leading to them being acknowledged by Listenable Records. This subsequently led to the signing of a 3 album deal with Listenable Records. Guitarist David McCretton left the band at this time to further his education and was replaced by an old friend of the band, Matthew Pugh.

On February 6, 2009, The Eyes of a Traitor were confirmed as main support for Gojira on the UK dates of their "The Way of All Flesh Tour." The tour was in conjunction with the release of their debut album A Clear Perception. Shortly after the Gojira tour, The Eyes of a Traitor embarked on a 7 day headline tour with The Argent Dawn, Many Things Untold and Ignominious Incarceration. This was the start of a massive tour schedule which was to occupy them for the remainder of the year. On September 1, 2009, The Eyes of a Traitor released a digital single called Nothing to Offer. This was later re-recorded for their second album Breathless.

Breathless and The Disease (2010-present):

On 18 January 2010, Paul Waudby announced that he would be leaving the band in pursuit of a career outside of the music industry. With the band due to go into the studio two weeks later, Jack Moulsdale, both a close friend and tech support of the band stood in to become their new bassist. With the release of their second studio album in July 2010, Breathless, the band toured across the United Kingdom and Continental Europe extensively, joining The Chariot's European headline tour with Iwrestledabearonce starting April 9 and extending till May 9, 2010. On June 27 they appeared at Ghostfest 2010 on the monster energy stage alongside Gallows, Devil Sold His Soul and Lower than Atlantis.

Later in the year, on 18 September 2010 on their Facebook page, The Eyes of a Traitor revealed that they would release an EP consisting of 4 re-recorded tracks from their debut album: Under Siege, Escape These Walls, Like Clockwork and The Impact of Two Hearts. It was origonally announced to be released around Christmas time but was delayed indefinitely. Justin Lowe, the guitarist of metalcore band After the burial mixed the tracks while Ed Sokolowski produced them. Progress on the completion on the EP was hindered because of After the Burial touring with As I Lay Dying.

On 16 September 2011 embarked on a short tour across the United Kingdom with Heart in Hand and Martyr Defiled. Although the tour only ended on September 23, the band used this tour to promote their new extended play "The Disease EP". The EP was limited to 200 copies, in promotion, the title track 'Disease' became available to stream in conjunction with the announcement. On 9 November 2011 the EP was made free by the band. It was stated on November 20, 2011, on The Eyes of a Traitors Facebook page that they are taking a break as a band. Sam Brennan joined British metalcore band Heart In Hand.

Musical style and influences

Founding and former guitarist Steve Whitworth, when asked how he would describe the band's sound, said that they "combine technicality with melodic sensibilities, metal and occasional sprinklings from other genres." The Eyes of a Traitor have been described by critics as metalcore,melodic death metal, experimental thrash and progressive metal. They have been described by critics as "math metal" which shows their music's close proxmitity to mathcore but retaining more metallic elements. Many critics have has credited them for their accelerated progression through the British metal scene considering the age of the band members. By the time their first EP was released, the average age of the members was 17.

A Clear Perception shown that despite mixed overall ratings of the album by critics, the band wes praised for their attempts to bring something new to deathcore. With their use of clean vocals and "...treading the line between metalcore and deathcore, adding elements of the Gothenburg melodic death metal into their sound to good effect.".

Members of the band have said they are influenced by technical death metal acts such as Gojira,Textures and Necrophagist, as well as bands such as Children Of Bodom, Slipknot, Misery Signals, Mesuggah, In Flames, and Thrice.

Former Members

Line-up at hiatus

Sam Brennan - drums, percussion (2006-2011),

Jack Delany - lead vocals (2006-2011),

Tim George - guitarist (2010-2011),

Jack Moulsdale - bass guitar (2010-2011),

Matthew Pugh - guitarist (2008-2011),

Previous members

Stephen Whitworth - guitar (2006-2010),

Paul Waudby - bass (2007-2010),

David McCretton - guitar (2006-2008),

Ian Cubbon - bass (2006-2007)