New Station
Free On Mobile Free On Mobile Available now for
iPhone, iPad & Android
“I'm in love with Jango” - USA Today
“Makes it fun to
discover new music” - Wall Street Journal
“Straight forward and
easy to navigate” - PCWorld
“Refreshingly simple
online radio” - CNET

Carnifex is an American deathcore band from San Diego, California. Formed in 2005, they are currently signed to Victory Records and have released four studio albums. The band's name is derived from the Old English Latin word äúexecutioner; literally meaning, "executioner".


Formation and early recordings (2005-2006):

Carnifex was founded during late 2005 in Fallbrook, California, with a recording lineup of Scott Lewis (vocals), Shawn Cameron (drums), Rick James (guitar) and Kevin Vargas (bass). A self-titled demo was recorded and released featuring five tracks and distributed through Enclave Records, made with the intent of searching for a larger record deal. In September 2006, Rick James and Kevin Vargas left. Shortly after, Steve McMahon joined on bass, as did Travis Whiting on guitar.

Carnifex released an EP before the end of 2006, titled Love Lies in Ashes, which was released through Enclave Records. It was sold exclusively at shows as well as online stores such as iTunes before the group began work on their full-length debut album.

Dead in My Arms (2007-2008):

Carnifex was signed to underground label This City Is Burning Records in March 2007 and recorded their debut full length Dead in My Arms, with yet another member change. The band though was still a four-piece outfit but with current guitarist Cory Arford replacing Rick James in March 2007. The line-up during the recording of Dead in My Arms was Scott Lewis (vocals), Shawn Cameron (drums), Cory Arford (guitar) and Steve McMahon (bass guitar).

Dead in My Arms was released on July 12, 2007. Carnifex began touring full time with the release of this record. Touring gutarist Jake Anderson was recruited as a second guitarist from July 2007 until November. During this time, the band found themselves touring with groups such as Emmure, Whitechapel, MyChildren MyBride among others. The reasonable success of Dead in My Arms, and the prevalence of the deathcore genre as a whole, attracted the attention of Victory Records. In November 2007, after the departure of Steve McMahon (bass) and Jake Anderson (guitar), Carnifex signed a deal with Victory with now current members Fred Calderon (bass) and Ryan Gudmunds (guitar).

The Diseased and the Poisoned (2008-2009):

Carnifex's second album, The Diseased and the Poisoned was released on June 24, 2008, and reached #19 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers Chart. Since the release of The Diseased and the Poisoned Carnifex toured over 22 countries with such bands as The Black Dahlia Murder, Despised Icon, Obituary, Unleashed, Finntroll, Warbringer, Parkway Drive, Unearth, Architects, Whitechapel, Protest the Hero, Bleeding Through, Darkest Hour, and Impending Doom.

Hell Chose Me and Until I Feel Nothing (2009-present):

I heard someone say "A walk down memory lane is a dead end". Our new record is titled "Until I Feel Nothing". Its about a whole life lived at that dead end.



--Vocalist Scott Lewis, on his inspiration for Until I Feel Nothing

On November 28, 2009, Carnifex finished recording their third full length album Hell Chose Me, which lead to its release on February 16, 2010. The record sold more than 3,100 copies on its first week within the United States alone. The group played the 2010 Summer Slaughter Tour in support of the album and toured with Unearth, All That Remains and As I Lay Dying in September 2010. On January 26, 2011, vocalist, Lewis announced, that the band were in the process of writing a new record; "We've been working hard on the new record. We know we have to top Hell Chose Me and were NOT letting you down! Heavier, darker and more pissed in every way (sic)." On February 3, 2011, Carnifex embarked on a full U.S. tour dubbed the Names Mean Nothing Tour where the band was supported by the extreme metal acts, Oceano, The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza and Within the Ruins.

On August 24th, 2011, Lewis made another announcement, confirming that the title for the new album would be Until I Feel Nothing. He stated that its sound was inspired while listening to the band's three studio albums and felt like combining all of its style to one record.

Band members


Shawn Cameron - drums, keyboards (founding member),

Scott Lewis - lead vocals (founding member),

Cory Arford - guitars (since 2007),

Fred Calderon - bass guitar (since 2007),

Ryan Gudmunds - guitars (since 2007),


Rick James - guitars (2005-2007),

Kevin Vargas - bass guitar (2005-2006),

Steve McMahon - bass guitar (2006-2007),

Travis Whiting - guitars (2006),

Jake Anderson - guitars (2007)